More news from Kirsty Davies-Chinnock, head of Professional Polishing Ltd and chair for The Women in Business Association. Kirsty and quantity surveyor Hilary Allen, Birmingham Young Professional of the Year 2011, an associate at Davis Langdon, are joining forces with Pavilions to celebrate the inspirational women who live and work in our city. Kirsty says: “It is great to see a shopping centre celebrating the achievements of women in the city. When Pavilions contacted me to ask if I was interested in being involved, I jumped at the chance.

“There a lot of incredible women out there but as a whole our gender is quite reticent about ‘blowing our own trumpet’ and so I’m really keen to get involved and promote women’s achievements in Birmingham.

“If someone had told me that I would be close to my 40th birthday and asked to take part in a fashion campaign for inspirational women, I’m afraid I would have laughed. Yet, my involvement with Pavilions Birmingham has not only helped me celebrate my professional success – always helpful with a milestone like 40 – but also reignited an interest in fashion. I tend to avoid clothes shopping in busy malls as often I’m faced with an array of clothes and no idea what will suit me, but this experience has shown me that in a relaxed and stylish environment I can shop, ask advice and choose something stunning in a less stressful atmosphere.

“The experience has been fantastic, my team at Professional Polishing Services Ltd were amazed at the transformation.”

Kirsty and other local activists will feature in a post about unemployment, introduced by Cllr John Clancy’s recent Council Chamber address.

 *

